DKNY Be Delicious Eau So Intense – Photos and Review

Hello!

The DKNY Be Delicious fragrance made its first appearance in 2004 and since then, has amassed legions of fans – to date, over 4,000,000 bottles of the iconic apple-scented fragrance has been sold. There have been several other variations of the Be Delicious franchise – Delicious Candy Apples, Red Delicious, Be Delicious Fresh Blossom, Delicious Night and Golden Delicious. In 2012, DKNY decided to rejuvenate the original fragrance, creating Be Delicious Eau So Intense.

DKNY Be Delicious Eau So Intense

Every 10 seconds, someone, somewhere, picks up a Be Delicious apple off the shelves and takes home a little slice of New York’s vibrant, sophisticated, optimistic spirit home

~ DKNY

The original fragrance had garnered such a fan following with its fresh, crisp fragrance and palm-sized crystalline bottle mirroring the vibrancy, energy and optimism New York City embodies, DKNY found it high time to reward its fans with an amped up version of the fragrance. For Eau So Intense, the perfumers chose DKNY Be Delicious and Fresh Blossom and amplified the concentration of the fragrance so that devotees and new fans would enjoy an enhanced fragrance sensation.

DKNY Be Delicious Eau So Intense

L-R: DKNY Be Delicious Eau So Intense; DKNY Fresh Blossom Eau So Intense

I have always been intrigued by the fragrance but never really got around to purchasing it – partly because an ex-colleague wore Red Delicious ALL the time and that somehow stopped me from trying it myself. Now that some years have passed and a new amplified version has arrived, I gave it a go and to my surprise, I really enjoyed it.

If you’re familiar with my fragrance inclinations from the reviews I’ve written before, you’d probably know I am not a fruity fragrance fan. In particular, I am really not a fan of berry or citrus fragrances. However, I’ve realised that fruit notes like pears, figs and apples have a more gourmand, full-bodied fragrance which, in the right combination, can be warm, inviting and really, rather Delicious.

In this vein, DKNY’s Be Delicious Eau So Intense hits all the right spots for me. I don’t have the original Be Delicious fragrance so I can’t make a comparison though.

The iconic apple fragrance is dominant but it steers clear of a sour or acrid note like some artificial apple fragrances tend to morph into (in particular, I dislike apple-scented/flavoured candies and toiletries). It is subtly sweet, a little crisp and inviting.

DKNY Be Delicious apple

I also appreciate that instead of pairing it with apple’s most famed and common partner, Cinnamon and Nutmeg (apple pie anyone?), it is paired with a beautiful white floral – Magnolia.

DKNY Be Delicious Fragrance Notes

The freshness of the Apple scent is accentuated by the crisp Grapefruit but to be honest, I don’t quite detect it – not that I’m complaining because that citrus zing would take away from the beautiful Magnolia. The Magnolia note mingles delicately with the Apple and what you get is a comfortable gourmand floral. Sensuous Sandalwood and White Amber add a touch of creamy warmth to the fragrance keeping from morphing into a playful, immature confection.

Serious fragrance connoisseurs may find the linear quality of this fragrance a little vapid or tame – the initial crispness dries down and I’m left experiencing the warm apple-floral in pretty much the same way the whole day. Fortunately, because I like how the fragrance settles on my skin, I have no issues with this linear aspect. But if you’re expecting it to transcend into something a little more exciting or want to be tantalised by new bursts of notes, then this might not be exactly what you’re looking for. However, if you’re looking for a very long-lasting fragrance, this might definitely be something that might interest you – it remained on my skin for more than 8 hours, of course dwindling to a more subtle version by the end of that time. DKNY didn’t lie when they said they upped the concentration :)

DKNY Be Delicious Eau So Intense is a delightful basket of apples and white flowers – it’s pretty, sweet, inviting, a little flirty and very loyal. Try it and you just might like it, joining legions of fans around the world.

DKNY Be Delicious

Be Delicious Eau So Intense and Fresh Blossom Eau So Intense are available at all DKNY fragrance counters at the following prices:

  • 50ml – SGD$102
  • 100ml – SGD$135

Thanks for stopping by and have a fruitful day ahead!

love-kas

Disclaimer: Fragrance featured in this post was furnished by the brand for consideration. This post contains images extracted from Google images; this post contains information extracted from a press file furnished by the brand. All opinions expressed are my own and are unbiased.

5 thoughts on “DKNY Be Delicious Eau So Intense – Photos and Review

    • Hi meryl! Yes, I’ve exported my blog and will be using this wordpress one henceforth. I was experiencing many technical glitches in the onsugar one. I posted a brief announcement saying I have a new blog here – for now, im posting links of new entries in the onsugar blog and soon will just concentrate on this wordpress one. Thanks so much for coming by here! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

